Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Mashed Potato Soup

Okay, it’s not as weird as it sounds. Really. I’ve seen recipes for “Smashed Potato Soup,” so removing the s can’t make it more weird. Right?

Whatever. It is kind of weird. But in a very delicious way.

So the story is that I was craving soup. Badly. And what I had on hand was potatoes. I didn’t really want a cream soup, because I’m trying to cut back on dairy products (a more palatable way to say I’m leaning vegan — no pun intended). So why not make a potato puree and tell myself it was a creamy soup? It was settled. Mashed potato soup.

For a little extra sweetness, I added a sweet potato to the mix. It adds a great depth of flavor to an otherwise bland soup. And it makes it much prettier as well. If you’re the kind of person who likes to mix their mashed potatoes and peas (me, me, me!!), then by all means, throw in a cup or more of frozen peas a few minutes before serving. Will thought that was the best part of it, after giving the meal two ecstatic thumbs up.

Sorry for not posting a photo… again. Sometimes my taste buds get antsy.

Estimated prep and cook time: 30 minutes       Estimated cost: $5 (or less, using homemade vegetable broth)

Mashed Potato Soup

  • 1T olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 russet potatoes, scrubbed and diced (leave on the peel for extra fiber and flavor)
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 2T dried parsley
  • 1T paprika

Saute onion and garlic in oil over medium heat until onion softens. Add russet potatoes and saute, stirring, for two minutes. Add broth. Increase heat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-high and add sweet potatoes, salt and pepper, parsley, and paprika. Cook for 15 minutes or until potatoes are easily pierced with a fork.

Remove from heat. Using an immersion blender, blend soup to desired consistency. I like mine a little lumpy, just like my mashed potatoes! Or, use a food processor and blend in batches.

Taste and add additional seasoning as needed.

Serves 4.

January 9, 2013 Posted by | Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian | , , , | Leave a comment