Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Day 3: Feeling challenged.

I knew it would be a rough day when I woke up and thought “I could sure go for a vanilla Coke, a bag of chips, and some cookies.”  Yep, that was 8am.

Here’s how it started.  Last night as I was falling asleep, I heard the pitter-patter of footsteps approaching my bedroom.  Sure enough, Will was sleepwalking and found his way to my bed.  After a short discussion about what he was doing and why (which he does not recall whatsoever), I ended up with what seemed like at least a dozen flailing arms and legs in my bed for the night.

Needless to say, I was not ready to wake up this morning.  At all.

But we had errands to run, a newborn baby to meet (yay!), cookies to bake (you can’t visit a newborn without bringing goodies for mom), and a house to clean.  So I eventually rolled my crabby self out of bed.  After all, I needed to check the status of my sour cream experiment.  Food is such a good motivator!

I head to the oven where I’d left my setting cream to find that it was the same goopy consistency as when I mixed the cream and buttermilk yesterday.  Annoying.  Maybe it will set up in the fridge, I thought, and optimistically placed it where the sour cream lives.  As of the last check, I still have goop.  Super annoying.

Cookies would make me feel better, I reasoned.  So I decided to make a batch of my favorite White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin cookies.  Oops, doesn’t make the cut, thanks to brown sugar.  That’s okay, because I found a cool recipe for honey almond cookies.  The ingredients, in addition to honey and almond, are egg whites.  That’s all.  Three whole food ingredients.  Can’t go wrong!  Thirty sticky minutes later, I learned that it could indeed go wrong.  Tasty, but consumption required a fork and knife.

Other kitchen struggles of the day included too-thick-to-stir hummus that nearly killed the blender, running out of olive oil after just returning from the store, every single homemade skinny french fry sticking to the pan (when they’re skinny, there is no room for potato loss!), and dishes, dishes, and more dishes.

Where’s my caffeine??!!

I realize that challenges are called such because they are meant to be challenging.  I realize that not every day will be easy and craving-free.  And I realize that most days will be.  My silver lining for today came at dinner when Will, tremendously pleased with the homemade ketchup (something finally turned out as planned!), said “Mom, we should always eat unprocessed foods in our house.”

Proud mama.  He is completely forgiven for last night’s restlessness.

October 3, 2011 - Posted by | Food for thought | ,

3 Comments »

  1. What a nice story. I look forward to reading more posts.

    Comment by Anonymous | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. I like the sound of those honey almond cookies – even if they do need to be eaten with a spoon!

    Comment by Liz | October 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I plan to play around a bit with the recipe to find a way to make them finger food, as cookies should be. Once I figure it out, I’ll be sure to post the recipe. Stay tuned!

      Comment by Becky | October 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

