Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Day 2 of October Unprocessed

I have to admit, this has not been as difficult as I thought it would be!  After studying blogs, recipes, and cookbooks for three days, cleaning all the rule-breakers out of the fridge, pantry, and snack cupboard, and stocking up on produce, bulk grains, and local, organic dairy products, I felt more-or-less at ease with the transition.

My cart-full of fresh produce-- isn't it beautiful?!

Cleaning out the fridge was an experience itself.  I can’t believe how much junk was taking up space!  Old dressings, ice cream topping syrups, capers (I don’t even like capers!), honey mustard from 2009, a jar of cracker spread so old that I’m embarrassed to share its age.  I should be ashamed.

This doesn't even include things in plastic containers!

On Friday, in an effort to make October 1st go smoothly, I checked out Healthy Breads in 5 Minutes a Day from the library.  I made two loaves worth of dough, one to bake in the morning and one to keep in the fridge until the first loaf runs out.  Because I refused to turn the heat on in my house, the dough didn’t rise to make the delightfully light and airy sandwich loaf I was promised, but Will didn’t seem to mind.

Saturday morning started with a late breakfast of my favorite cereal which, thankfully, is made with a whopping 4 ingredients– all organic!  Since I still had apples from my parents’ apple tree, I made a cleaner batch of applesauce using honey instead of brown sugar.  I also added a few fresh pears to try to sweeten it up.  This met with success only when the sauce is served warm.  Bummer.

Lunch was one of my favorite easy fixes: stir fried leftover rice, chickpeas, and lacinato kale.  Will was not a huge fan Roasted Carrot Soupof this, sadly.  Maybe not so sadly, since that means more of the delicious (and expensive) kale for me!  A new recipe, roasted carrot soup, was filling and soul-satisfying alongside a slice of homemade bread.  I was pleasantly surprised to find myself sated after a day of clean eating.

I made a sweet find at the co-op the other day: organic french vanilla creamer.  Somehow coffee passes the kitchen test (who am I to argue with the experts??).  So I rewarded myself in the late afternoon with a creamy vanilla icCouscous with fresh veggiesed coffee: my salvation for this cola-free month.

Today was even easier.  I stuck to some simple meals: couscous with steamed veggies and chickpeas and a side salad for lunch, and cheese pizza with a homemade crust for dinner.  I snacked a lot today, but a piece of fruit or handful of nuts always drove away the pending hunger pangs.  Only once I felt myself craving my favorite go-to snack of ultra-salty, trans-fat drenched chips.

My big experiments for today are still in the making.  I have a jar of soon-to-be sour cream doing its thing and a pot of homemade ketchup cooling on the stove.  Will was so excited about the ketchup that he helped assemble the spice bundle and peel tomatoes!

I’m glad this unprocessed challenge popped up in my Twitter feed.  It gave me that kick in the butt I needed to get my eating back on track.  Any day now I expect to wake up and jump out of bed, ready to face the day head on.  I’m already starting to feel more focused, and my energy is slowly creeping back.  By the end of the month I expect to feel like a rock star!

But I still miss my cola.

October 2, 2011 - Posted by | Food for thought | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m impressed! Aaron made homemade barbeque sauce the other day. Who knew it could be so easy?!? I found a blog the other day where the woman doesn’t buy anything that has more than 5 ingredients in it. Less then 5 ingredients and she considers it ‘unproccessed’ (or unprocessed enough) and it was a good reminder to think about what we’re eating.

    Good luck this month!!

    Comment by MamaMort | October 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

