Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

$5 Challenge, a la Mommy Cafe

When I discovered the $5 Challenge that Slow Food USA is promoting, I was so excited.  For those who have not heard of it, the challenge reads “On Sept. 17, I pledge to share a fresh, healthy meal that costs less than $5 — because slow food shouldn’t have to cost more than fast food.”

Darn straight.

Now, I like food.  That is no surprise.  And I’m cheap.  Also not much of a surprise.  So this challenge sounded right up my alley.  But the more I read about it, and the more I really thought about it, the more I realized that this is not exactly challenging for me.  Often I will make a dinner that comes in well under the $5 mark.  That means less than $2.50 per person.  Many of my meals will feed four people at the same price.  I’ve got this challenge beat!

However, I don’t feel like it’s very responsible to simply ignore the challenge and call it just another day in Frugalville.  So how do I up the ante, so to speak?  I’m not alone in this dilemma.  Some people have decided to try feeding a large group of people for $5 total.  Others have vowed to use only organic foods while staying within the $5 per person budget.

What will I do to challenge myself?  For starters, I plan to spread the word about the $5 challenge.  I want to share the satisfaction of affordable, healthy cooking with my friends and family.  Then I want to extend the challenge beyond just one day of awareness.  This should be an every day decision.  We all know the temptation of fast food: it’s cheap, it’s easy, and it’s fast (duh).  But guess what – “slow” food can be all that and a bag of baked pita chips!  Which brings me to part three of my personal $5 challenge: providing more recipes, more frequently, that are cheap, easy, fast, and nutritious.

You don’t get that from a meal that you order by number.

September 14, 2011 - Posted by | Food for thought

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

