Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

Don’t let the long name fool you– these cookies are deliciously simple to make.  As I’ve mentioned before I don’t bake often.  However, this recipe made a convert out of me!  The sweetness of the white chocolate chips are a perfect pair for the tart dried cranberries.  And the oatmeal makes them healthy!  Right??

This recipe was from a magazine in an ad for Ocean Spray Craisins, so sadly I can’t take credit for the total yumminess that will come from your oven.  I didn’t make a single change to the original recipe, but one could easily use raisins instead of Craisins, or add macadamia nuts (Mmmm), or any other number of variations.  For me, I’ll stick to the original.

Disclaimer:  Will asks me to make his without the cranberries.  I do so happily, because it means I get more cranberries in my half of the cookies!

White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 ozs dried cranberries
  • 2/3 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together in a medium mixing bowl until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, mixing well.  Combine oats, flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate mixing bowl.  Add to butter mixture in several additions, mixing well after each addition.  Stir in dried cranberries and white chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded teaspoonful onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool on wire rack.

Makes approx 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

March 3, 2011 - Posted by | Baked Goodies |

3 Comments »

  1. Have I mentioned lately that we should hang out?? And that I like cookies?? Just curious 😉

    Comment by Blakely | March 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. […] to bake.  It all started innocently enough with a craving for cookies.  A batch of my favorite White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin cookies turned into a second batch of cookies to share with friends, and before I knew it my baking […]

    Pingback by Homemade Bread « Mommy Cafe | April 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] would make me feel better, I reasoned.  So I decided to make a batch of my favorite White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin cookies.  Oops, doesn’t make the cut, thanks to brown sugar.  That’s okay, because I found a […]

    Pingback by Day 3: Feeling challenged. « Mommy Cafe | October 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

