Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Part of my unofficial New Year’s Resolution is to become less reliant on the store for things I can make myself.  A couple of years ago I started making my own laundry detergent.  Then I made my own general cleaner.  Recently I’ve moved on to homemade deodorant.  Many of my friends have also been making the move to natural, homemade products.

These items don’t neatly fit in with recipes for soups and pastas, but they’re still worthy of posting.  I’m starting with the laundry detergent, because it’s a great way to get used to homemade products… and it’s such a tremendous cost savings!  A friend of mine did the math once and told me it cost about 2 or 3 cents (yes, cents!!) per washer load.  Besides the cost savings, I’ve also found it to be easier on my clothes, less fading, and I can add my own essential oils instead of smelling the heavy perfumes that are in most store-bought detergents.

I make my detergent in a 5-gallon bucket.  Once it has set overnight, I pour some into a Rubbermaid pitcher with a sealing lid for everyday use.  You can also use your empty store detergent bottle.  It’s so much easier to shake a 5-quart container than a 5-gallon one.

Look for more cleaning and self-care products in the near future.  Just please don’t eat the deodorant!

 

Homemade Laundry Detergent

  • 4 cup hot water
  • 1 bar Ivory soap
  • 1 cup washing soda
  • ½ cup borax

Grate soap and melt with water.  Fill a 5-gallon bucket half full with hot water.  Add melted soap, washing soda, and borax.  Stir until dissolved.  Fill bucket with water and let stand overnight to thicken.

To use, shake well and pour 1/2 to 1 cup of detergent into wash.

February 8, 2011 - Posted by | Cleaning Products | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. When I get things from other people that they’ve laundered, I can’t believe how strongly they smell of detergent. And I’m not a fan!! I much prefer our homemade orange scented detergent!!

    Comment by MamaMort | February 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

