Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Creamy Parsnip Soup

Yes, friends, I’m back!  Life has been incredibly hectic, which means my meals have been incredibly boring.  Nothing new to share… until now!

Two weeks ago I was so sick that I could barely make it through the grocery store.  The only things I could think of that would make me feel better (or at least not worse) were soup and parsnips.  So I combined the two and came up with this wonderful, healing soup.  Not bad for a sick day!

For those of you unfamiliar with parsnips, they look like a white carrot and pack a nice spicy flavor.  I love them chopped or sliced on salads, breaded and baked, and in vegetable soups.  In the grocery store, you may find them sold individually, in which case they’ll be coated in wax (remove the wax before eating!), or they may be sold in 1- or 2-pound bags.

I simmered the parsnips and potatoes in water with tarragon and only used a portion of the broth.  It smelled so delicious that I froze the leftover broth to use for the base of another soup, yet to be determined.  If you don’t want the extra broth, cut back the water to an amount that just covers the vegetables.  Or send it my way and I’ll put it to good use.

Will raved about this soup.  Honestly, I made it for me and didn’t expect him to enjoy it that much.  But to my surprise, he ate two large bowls of it!  He liked a little cornbread crumbled into his.  Next time I’ll probably add a half-cup of frozen corn right at the end to give it even more flavor.

Prep and cook time: 30 minutes    Estimated cost: $3.50

Creamy Parsnip Soup

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 T. tarragon
  • 4 parsnips,chopped
  • 2 potatoes, cubed
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • pinch of salt

Saute the onions and tarragon in a tablespoon of olive oil until the onions start to soften.  Add the potatoes, parsnips, and water and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the parsnips and potatoes are very tender.

In a food processor, puree the parsnips, potatoes, and 1 cup of the broth in batches (use more or less broth, depending on how thick you like your soup).  Return the puree to the pot over medium heat.  Add the milk, nutmeg, and salt to taste.  Heat the soup, stirring constantly, until hot but not boiling, about 5 minutes.

Optional: stir in 1/2 cup of frozen corn with the milk.

Serves 4

January 23, 2011 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

