Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Chili Manicotti

I discovered a local blogger the other day, and was so excited about her ideas for using up leftover chili.  In fact, I was so excited that I even made her chili instead of mine.  Now that is a compliment, considering I don’t like to take any chances with my chili!Chili Manicotti

I won’t reproduce Amanda’s chili recipe here, you can visit her blog, Vegacious, directly (and often!) for that.  The recipe I’d like to share is my inspiration from her suggestion of using leftover chili in lasagna.  Brilliant!  The very next day I went to the grocery store fully intending to make lasagna.   But as I was reaching for the lasagna noodles, something else caught my eye: manicotti shells.  Add a memory of Rachael Ray’s Sloppy Joe Manicotti, and (dare I say it?) genius was born!

While Amanda’s chili was delicious, I had my taste buds set on something a little sweeter for the manicotti.  Next time I’ll make the manicotti with my usual chili.  But when I’m craving a hearty, veggie-ful chili, I’m going back to Vegacious!

Prep and cook time: 35 minutes     Approximate cost: $3 per serving

Chili Manicotti

  • 12 manicotti noodles
  • 3 cups leftover chili
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Cook noodles in salted water according to package directions.  Meanwhile, heat chili to lukewarm.  Spread 1/4 cup of tomato sauce over a 9×13 baking dish.

Once noodles are cooked and cooled, stuff each with about 1/4 cup of chili.  Place the stuffed manicotti side-by-side in the baking dish.  Spoon the remaining tomato sauce over the manicotti and cover with cheese.  Bake until golden and bubbly, about 15 minutes.

Serves 4

December 9, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments – glad you enjoyed my recipe!

    Comment by Amanda @ Vegacious | December 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

