Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Tangy Mac & Cheese

My grandma made a phenomenal macaroni and cheese.  Whenever we visited, my brother and I would request it for lunch.  It was so creamy and delicious, nothing like the pasty processed Kraft version.

Sadly, Grandma died before sharing her recipe.  It was probably a very simple sauce, one that she likely assumed would be easy to replicate.  I’ve scoured her cookbooks looking for a clue as to the secret but never found the telltale food smudge on any page.  Shortly after Grandma died, my mom found a few containers of her mac & cheese in the freezer, which she graciously shared with me and my brother.  I savored every bite of it, knowing that it would be the last time I would taste it.

Over the past few years I have made countless attempts to make a mac & cheese just like Grandma’s, never quite succeeding.  But I have come up with some darn tasty concoctions, which I’m sure she would be proud of.  One of my versions has become Will’s absolute favorite meal of all time.  I’ve made sure to tell him the secret ingredients so that he will be able to make it himself someday.  So I guess you could say I have found success after all!

This particular recipe was less an attempt at perfection than an attempt to fulfill Will’s dinner request with a limited variety of cheese on hand.  The ricotta gave it an unexpected tanginess that I especially enjoyed.  Will gave it his absolute approval, but asked me to please make his favorite version the next time 🙂

Prep and cook time:  20 minutes     Estimated cost: $6

Tangy Mac & Cheese

  • 8 oz pasta (bowties, macaroni, small shells, whatever you’ve got!)
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup half and half or milk
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Cook pasta in salted water according to package directions.  When al dente, drain pasta and return to medium heat.  Add cheese, milk, salt and pepper, and cook, stirring frequently, until cheese is melted and combined with pasta.

Serves 2-3

November 3, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

