Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Spinach Salad

We all keep hearing about heart-healthy foods.  This salad is not only a boost for your heart, but it’s also packed with iron and probably a lot of those antioxidants everyone keeps talking about.

I had some apprehension when I first made this salad for Will.  I knew I would enjoy it.  And I knew he likes spinach in other things.  No harm in trying this one, since it’s a 3 minute fix.  Besides, if he didn’t like it, more for me!  Much to my surprise, he devoured this salad and asked for more.

The ingredients are more pricey than I normally like to spend.  However, this recipe made at least 6 salads, with over half a bag of cranberries leftover.  And it’s still cheaper than ordering the same salad at your favorite restaurant!

Prep time: 3 minutes (or less!)     Approximate cost: $10

Spinach Salad

  • 1 bag baby spinach
  • small bag chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 bag dried cranberries
  • 4 oz feta cheese
  • balsamic vinaigrette (or make your own– 1 part balsamic vinegar to 3 parts oil)

Toss all ingredients together and serve right away.

Serves 6-8

November 2, 2010 Posted by | Vegetarian | , , | Leave a comment