Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Egg-ceptional

I am very fortunate to have access to farm-fresh eggs from happy, healthy chickens.  And when I say “farm-fresh,” I mean some days they go straight from chicken to frying pan.  It’s so obvious to me that farm-fresh anything is the best way to go.  It means you know how the product was grown, raised, or fed.  You know how long it has sat on a shelf.  You can even be relatively certain of whether the product came from a chemical-free garden, antibiotic-free animal, or free-range chicken.

I know exactly where my eggs come from.  The chickens self-feed and receive “treats” each day consisting of scratch, egg shells, fresh grass, or vegetable kitchen scraps.  They live in a coop but have access to an open-air space where they can pick bugs, hunt for worms, or just soak up some rays.

These are some happy chickens.  And believe it or not, I can taste the difference in their eggs.  Recently I ran out of my usual eggs and had to purchase a carton from the store.  So this morning I decided to do a taste test to see just how noticeable the difference is between a farm-fresh egg and a store-bought egg.

The first difference that caught my attention was the appearance.  The eggs in the store-bought carton were all shiny white and uniform.  It was like a little egg army resting in cardboard barracks.  On the other hand, the farm eggs were varying sizes and colors.  Some were small, some were quite large.  And each one had its own hue of brown.  It was a much more pleasing sight than the stark whites of the store eggs.

When I cracked my store egg, the shell was firm but easily broken.  The egg oozed out of the shell into my poacher, and slumped into its murky self.  In contrast, the farm egg had a nice thick shell that gave a satisfying pop when cracked open.  The egg practically jumped out of the shell and stood, yolk proud, in my poacher.

Once the eggs were cooked, I could still see a difference.  The store egg was white and flat.  I could barely detect the yolk through the white film.  Through the white of the farm egg, however, the yolk was still standing tall and shouting out “Hey, look at me!”

When I broke the eggs open, the color differences really stood out.  The store egg’s pale yellow yolk spilled out of the white.  Meanwhile, the yolk of the farm egg was a beautiful orange-yellow, and it made a more slow exit from the whites.

My favorite test was the taste-test.  No picture can show this difference!  The store egg lost again, with the only flavor coming from the salt and pepper.  I found myself rushing through eating it, certainly not enjoying the experience.  Then I bit into the farm egg and remembered that this is how an egg should taste!

My best egg advice will always be to find a local farmer and purchase your eggs straight from the source.  You may pay a little more in cash, but you’ll save in peace of mind… and your taste buds will thank you for it!

October 24, 2010 - Posted by | Food for thought |

1 Comment »

  1. Wow! Very interesting and informative. I did not realise that there were so many differences. Thanks for posting.

    Comment by Anonymous | October 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

