Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Blueberry Pie

I recently visited the Berry Patch, a local farm where you pick your own fruits. Will and I picked about 6 cups of blueberries before we even realized it! I’m not normally a blueberry fan, but fresh and local makes the blueberry an entirely different fruit than the stuff on the shelves at the grocery store.

So what to do with all these berries? Will wanted blueberry pie. I wasn’t sold on the idea since I’m also not a big pie fan. But he was insistent, and I am so glad he was! I found a recipe titled “Polly’s Perfect Blueberry Pie.” It was not an exaggeration. Perfectly delicious!! It got several thumbs up from Will and his best bud who is hanging out for the day… and from me, as well!

I cheated and used a store-bought pie crust, so I can’t vouch for that portion of the recipe. But the rest of it was heaven on a crust!

Prep time (excluding the berry picking): 5 minutes   Bake time: 45 minutes   Approximate cost: $6

Visit http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-live/pollys-perfect-blueberry-pie-recipe/index.html for the recipe direct from the source!

July 3, 2010 - Posted by | Baked Goodies |

1 Comment »

  1. I LOVED the blueberry pie! SO delicious! Thank you for sharing… I can’t wait to try it myself (and I might just add strawberries again.

    Comment by Amy | July 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

