Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Shrimp with Snow Peas

Ok, so I’ve been a bad blogger. It’s been way too long since my last post. My sincerest apologies to my loyal readers– all three of you! I’d like to say that I have a good excuse, but the best I can come up with is that I’ve been waiting until I could come up with said good excuse. So let’s skip over this apology business and get to the good stuff.

This dinner is so simple yet so delicious. One night Will wanted shrimp and I wanted snow peas, so I put the two together with a few other ingredients hoping it would at least be edible. What a surprise when we both loved it and wished there had been enough for thirds! I’ve made it a few times since for friends and it has always been a big hit. I might just be getting the hang of this cooking thing!

Prep and cook time: 15 minutes      Approx. cost: $4 per person

Shrimp with Snow Peas

  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 10 oz snow peas, tips trimmed
  • 12 oz medium sized shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 small can water chestnuts
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • 1 T. cornstarch mixed well into 1 T. cold water
  • 2 cups hot, cooked rice

Saute garlic in olive oil over medium heat.  Raise heat to high and add snow peas, stirring frequently for 2 minutes.  Add shrimp and water chestnuts and stir fry for 2 more minutes until the shrimp just start to turn pink.  Pour in wine and let reduce for one minute.  Stir in the soy sauce and the cornstarch-water mixture, and stir constantly until thickened.  Serve over hot rice.

Serves 4

June 22, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

