Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Taco Stromboli

Tonight’s dinner plan was abruptly changed when I was offered homemade pizza dough for strombolis.  I would have to be insane to turn that down, no matter what was on the menu.  You see, there are a great many things I can do in the kitchen.  Making dough is not one of them.

Then the question became what to stuff inside the dough.  I wanted something more than plain cheese, but wasn’t sure what exactly I was looking for.  I asked Will for suggestions of what to add besides green pepper and he instantly requested beans.  (First of all, let me take a moment to marvel that my 6-year-old is requesting beans for dinner!)  That suggestion led me to this insanely delicious idea– taco stromboli! Hey, if they can make tacos into a pizza, why not a stromboli?

Now, my preference is to post recipes made entirely from scratch.  But if you’re like me and can’t make a dough to save your life, and unlike me you don’t have a handsome dough-maker who sympathizes with your shortcoming, then I say go buy yourself a roll of dough from your grocer’s frozen food aisle and let’s start the recipe there!

Since I can’t speak to the time or cost of dough, I’m leaving out the standard estimations.  Let’s just say it takes considerable time to make the dough, so plan ahead by several hours if you’re going the homemade route.

Taco Stromboli

  • 1 ball pizza dough (get it where you can!)
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1/2 green pepper, diced
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1/2 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • taco seasoning (see my Bean & Bulgur Taco Salad post for a preservative-free recipe– but leave out the salt)
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Roll the dough into a rectangle until the dough is thin.  Spread salsa across dough, going all the way to the outer edges except at the very top of the long edge.  Mix together green pepper, onion, black beans, and taco seasoning, and spread on top of salsa.  Sprinkle cheese over mixture.  Roll the covered dough tightly to form a long “tube.”  Place on a baking sheet sprayed with nonstick spray.  Slice halfway through the stromboli every inch to allow steam to escape.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until crust starts to brown.

Top with crushed nacho chips and serve with sour cream and your favorite taco sauce.

Serves 4

May 21, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian |

2 Comments »

  1. This sounds amazing! I can’t wait to try it!

    Comment by unlikelyvegetarian | May 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I hope you like it! I think next time I cook black beans I might season half with cumin and cilantro to save myself a step for all my southwestern-style recipes.

      Comment by Becky | May 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

