Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Veggie Fried Rice

One of our local restaurants used to serve the best fried rice I’ve ever had, chock-full of veggies and tofu.  Over the years it has become more and more greasy, and the veggies have become less and less varied.  Eventually, I started making it at home, trying different recipes and techniques to get it just right.  I think I’ve finally come close enough to call it a match! 

This is one of my miracle meals.  It’s fast to prepare, it’s a great use for leftover veggies, and it’s a big winner with Will.  The tofu is always the first thing he eats, then he scarfs down the rest and asks for more while I’m still finishing my first bite.  I don’t usually plan this meal ahead.  But if I do, I’ll center my other meals for the week around the veggies I want in this dish.  If I end up with less vegetables left than I anticipated, there’s always a variety in the freezer that is easy to throw in at the last cooking minute.  The recipe below lists my favorites, but mix it up to your preferences… or whatever is in your fridge!

I like my tofu fried, but to cut down the fat content the tofu can be baked instead.  In this case, reduce the oil in the recipe by 1 T, and bake the tofu cubes in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.

Prep and cook time: 20 minutes   Approx. cost: $2 per serving (if not using leftover veggies)

Veggie Fried Rice

  • 3 T vegetable, corn, or wok oil, divided
  • 1 package extra firm tofu, cubed
  • 2 cups chopped/sliced/cubed vegetables (my favorites include zucchini, red onion, red bell pepper, sweet peas, corn, bean sprouts and bok choy or spinach)
  • 1 cup cold, cooked rice
  • 2 large eggs, beaten slightly
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • Dash of white pepper

Heat 1 T oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Cook tofu, turning every few minutes, until evenly golden brown.

In a wok, heat 1 T oil over high heat.  Add harder vegetables such as onion and bell peppers, and stir fry for about 2 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add softer and frozen vegetables, bean sprouts (if using), and rice, and continue to stir fry for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently, until hot. 

Push mixture to the sides of the skillet.  Add remaining oil to the other side and cook eggs, stirring constantly, until eggs are thickened.  Stir eggs into rice mixture and add the cooked tofu.  Stir in soy sauce and white pepper.

Serves 4 (unless Will is dining with you, then you may want to double the recipe!)

April 23, 2010 - Posted by | Learning to Love Tofu, Recipes, Vegetarian | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I tried out this recipe tonight. I had left over brown rice which I added to a chopped carrot, a chopped stalk of celery, some chopped white onion, and a small portion of left over cooked corn. I didn’t add the tofu and used it as a side dish. It was delicious. I didn’t use quite the suggested amount of vegetables and it would have been enough for 2 if I hadn’t pigged out. Could it be that Will inherited my appetite? Thanks for the recipe!

    Comment by dad | May 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

