Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Roasted Chickpeas

My worst cravings are always for crunchy, salty snacks.  I can empty a bag of tortilla chips in a sitting, and feel miserable for it afterward.  This afternoon I was cooking up a batch of garbanzo beans and decided to throw some in the oven and see what happened.  I’ve had chickpeas this way from the store and loved them.  Of course, this means preservatives and more salt than I should be eating.
 
I have seen recipes for this online in the past, but I took a gamble on my own culinary skills and just went for it.  And I have to say, it turned out better than I expected!  I only made about 1/2 cup worth, since I had plans for the rest of the beans.  But that 1/2 cup didn’t last long.  These babies are addicting! 
 
I seasoned mine with sea salt, but garlic salt would be fantastic with these.  If you like a little spicy with your salty, try adding some cayenne pepper or chili powder.  In a middle-Eastern mood?  Try a dash of curry powder.  The flavor options are endless!
Note that if you want to save these to eat for another day, you may want to consider dry roasting and tossing with oil and seasoning afterward.  They tend to lose their crunch after a few hours.  Personally, I don’t see them lasting until day 2 in my house!
 
Prep and cook time: 45 minutes   Approx cost: $1 for the batch
 
Roasted Chickpeas
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • Sea salt (or other spice/seasoning) to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Toss chickpeas in olive oil and salt and spread onto a baking pan with sides.  Bake for 30-40 minutes until crunchy.

April 21, 2010 - Posted by | Food for thought, Learning to Love Chickpeas, Recipes, Vegetarian | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. This is fantastic with paprika! I think I got the recipe from Everyday Food.

    Comment by Kristin W | April 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

