Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Beans and Greens

Last fall my friend Mary told me about the easiest recipe in the world– beans and greens.  Since we were in the middle of a 5 mile hike, I had to rely on my memory to get me to the bottom of the mountain and back to a pen and paper.  When I got home I made what I’m sure is a much modified version.  Much to my surprise, both Will and I loved it!

I have read other versions of beans and greens on other blogs, but none quite like this one.  This is one of the most versatile recipes I’ve ever come across.  You can use any kind of leafy green and any kind of bean.  Our favorite so far is spinach and red beans, but kale and black beans came in a close second.  For those who like a little carbohydrate with their dinner (me!! me!!), pair this with a pan-fried polenta.  Dee-lish!

Prep and cook time: 20 minutes.  Approx cost: $3 (depending on greens and season)

Beans and Greens

  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 can (15 oz) fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 can (14 oz) beans
  • 1 bunch leafy greens

Saute carrots, onion, celery, and garlic with a little salt and pepper in olive oil until just tender.  Stir in fire-roasted tomatoes and beans and heat until warmed through.  Add greens and turn constantly until just wilted. 

Serves 4

April 15, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

