Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Homemade Vegetable Stock

Buying stock from the store started eating up my food budge once I started cooking more.  Solution? Homemade stock!  The idea came from my friend Blakely, who is probably even more frugal than I am!

Homemade stock is practically free to make.  When you peel an onion or carrot, chop the stem off your broccoli florets, and snip off the celery leaves, save the parts that you would normally throw away and put them in a bag in the freezer.  You’ll be surprised how quickly they add up!  Once you’ve accumulated 3 full quart bags, you’ve got the ingredients for stock!  You can mix up the herbs to your taste.  I like to sing “Scarborough Fair” in my head while I’m adding my herbs 🙂

One batch of stock typically yields 7 cups.  I freeze mine in various sizes of containers (I save yogurt and cottage cheese containers for just this purpose!) from 1/2 cup to 3 cups for easy measuring when it comes time to cook.

Homemade Vegetable Stock

  • 3 quart bags of vegetable “scraps”
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 2 to 3 bay leaves
  • 3 T. parsley
  • 1 T. sage
  • 1/2 T. rosemary
  • 1/2 T. thyme
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Put vegetable scraps in a large stock pot and cover with water.  Add garlic and herbs.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.  Strain cooked stock through a fine-meshed sieve or cheesecloth.  Let cool, pour into containers, and store in freezer. 

Yield approx 7 cups stock

March 28, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I love the idea of freezing the scraps. I always end up buying vegetables to use in my stock, which makes it more expensive than buying it! Thanks for the tip.

    Comment by unlikelyvegetarian | April 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

