Mommy Cafe

Vegetarian home cooking, kid tested and approved

Sweet Potato Fries

Today is my first night home after a long weekend, so I’m easing my way back into the cooking scene with one of my favorite lazy-girl’s dinners: black bean burgers and sweet potato fries. I can’t take any credit for the burgers; I buy Morning Star black bean burgers and nuke them in the microwave. Not exactly cheap, and certainly not preservative-free, but quality ingredients and so very tasty! Melt some provolone cheese and top with lettuce and a little ranch dressing, and the entree is ready. The fries take slightly more time, but certainly not labor-intensive. Will loves the fries more than their traditional white-potato cousins. He even likes them cold in his lunch box the next day!

Sweet Potato Fries

  • 1 sweet potato per person
  • olive oil
  • seasoning (I use a poultry-rub, but just sea salt is delicious. Some people like chili powder.)

Cut potatoes into wedges, 6-8 per potato. Toss with olive oil and seasoning and place on a baking sheet. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, turning once halfway through.

March 16, 2010 - Posted by | Recipes, Vegetarian | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. These are awesome with turkey burgers. Thanks for the recipe, keep up the good work!

    Comment by Paul Lundgren | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Had those last weekend, it’s so easy. I love love love them! It’s healthier than deep frying for sure.

    Comment by Kwokmun | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. I love sweet potato fries too – Sharon told me about how she makes them. Do your fries stay soft or do they get crunchy?

    Comment by Patty | March 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Mine are usually soft, but if I get lucky the edges crisp up a bit! I’ve heard so many variations on sweet potato fries, but I love this version so much that I’ve never tried anything else!

      Comment by Becky | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I finally got around to making these tonight. We had them with cheesy egg wraps. Much less oil than hash browns. And so easy. Who knew? (guess you did!) Thanks.

    Comment by Greta | April 25, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m glad you liked them! We had them last night, too. Second time this week!

      Comment by Becky | April 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

